Popup Banner Revised

Join Our Exclusive Webinar!

Research Project Writing: Top Tips & Hints

Wednesday 29th May 2024, 2:00 PM (BST)

ACCA Syllabus

The ACCA syllabus (Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) consists of three stages:

1- The Applied knowledge stage which contains three exams; Business and Technology (BT), Management Accounting (MA), Financial Accounting (FA). 2- The Applied Skills stage which contains six exams; Corporate and Business Law (LW), Performance Management (PM), Taxation (TX), Financial Reporting (FR), Audit and Assurance (AA), Financial Management (FM). 3- The Strategic Professional stage which contains six exams;

However, two are essentials; Strategic Business Leader (SBL), Strategic Business Reporting (SBR) and four are options; Advanced Financial Management (AFM), Advanced Performance Management (APM), Advanced Taxation (ATX), Advanced Audit and Assurance (AAA).

Students must also complete the ACCA Ethics and Professional Skills stage. Depending on your current qualifications, you may be exempt from some ACCA exams. You can find out more information below

Acca Syllabus
ACCA Syllabus

The ACCA syllabus consists of 13 exams divided into 3 levels:

  • Applied Knowledge - 3 exams
  • Applied Skills – 6 exams
  • Strategic Professional (Essentials and Options) – 2 Essentials exams and 2 Options exams

Applied Knowledge

This stage, which includes exams BT to FA, is the starting point for achieving your ACCA qualification. Once you've passed all 3 exams, you can continue on to the ACCA Skills stage.


Applied Skills

Comprising exams LW to FM, this stage examines the principle technical subjects that you're expected to have an advanced understanding of. These subjects include law, taxation, auditing and financial management, financial reporting and performance management. You will develop knowledge and skills in these subject areas, reaching a level of knowledge equivalent to a bachelor's degree.

Strategic Professional (Essentials)

This stage is called Essentials as it will provide you with the specialised skills and techniques required to become an expert accountant, either in a consultancy or high-level advisory role. Each of the 2 ACCA exams is 3-hours long.

  • Maximum of two exams to be taken in one sitting.
  • Exams within a module may be sat in any order but ACCA recommends that they should be sat in numerical order.
  • Exams must be taken in modular order for the ACCA Qualification; however you can attempt the exams within each module in any order.  If you wish to enter to sit exams in the next module, you must also enter for all outstanding exams in your current module.  
  • The two Essentials ACCA exams do not have to be sat together.
  • Students have 10 years to pass all the examinations. Students will have 7 years to pass the exams at Professional level (SBL and SBR and two of the options exams AFM - AAA). The 7-year time limit starts when a student passes their first Professional level exam.
  • The pass mark for all examinations is 50%.
  • In addition to the above 13 exams, students are required to study and sit an online module in Professional Ethics. It is recommended that this is studied at the same time as SBL.
  • Practical experience required.

Student comments

"Since I started the ACCA qualification I have been promoted at work. I will highly recommend LSBF." Professional Training
"The best thing about studying here is the flexibility of timing. You can just sit at home enjoying the classes which is completely different". Professional Training
"Tutors were very knowledgeable, they had a very good background with ACCA, they were quite well recognised and accredited." Professional Training
More student stories
Programmes Executive Postgraduate Certificate Data Science Data Science Principles Tools Best Practices

Get FREE access to our ACCA Online demo

Enquire Now
Star rating: 4.80000019073486 - Excellent
Based on 332 reviews
PQ Magazine Small

Request More Information

Message us on WhatsApp or contact a programme advisor by phone:

+44 (0) 20 3005 6336

Back to top